
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health • Vital Records Unit

http://vitalrecords.nc.gov
Mail: 1903 Mail Service Center Location: 225 North McDowell St.
 Raleigh, NC 27699-1903  Raleigh, NC 27603-1382

Application for North Carolina Death, Marriage or Divorce Record
A Death, Marriage or Divorce Certifi cate search costs $24 and includes one copy if a certifi cate is located. The search covers a three-year period.
This search fee is non-refundable. There is a fee of $15 for each additional certifi cate copy requested from the same search. If you want same-
day walk-in service, an additional $15 expedited processing fee is required. Mail-in applicants may also receive expedited service. Include
the $15 expedite fee and write “Expedite” on the envelope. For expedited processing and expedited shipping add $35. (Call for expedited
shipping fees outside the continental United States.) Make your certifi ed check or money order payable to “N.C. Vital Records.” Please do not
send cash in the mail. Personal checks are not accepted. If you have questions, our telephone number is 919-733-3000.

Please Print Identifi cation of the person requesting a certifi cate is required. See page 2 for a list of acceptable IDs.
Requests that do not include proper identifi cation will be returned.

Death Certifi cate Number of Copies Requested Certifi ed _____ Uncertifi ed _____
 Full Name of Deceased ___________________________________________________________________
 Date of Death (Month/Day/Year) ________________ Age at Time of Death ___ Race ___________________

 Location of Death (City or County) _________________________ Offi ce Use Only
 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)____________________________ Book ____ Page _____

Marriage Certifi cate Number of Copies Requested Certifi ed _____ Uncertifi ed _____
 Full Name of Groom _____________________________________________________________________
 Full Maiden Name of Bride _______________________________________________________________
 Date of Marriage (Month/Day/Year)_________________________ Offi ce Use Only
 County Where License Was Issued _______________________ Book ____ Page _____

Divorce Certifi cate Number of Copies Requested Certifi ed _____ Uncertifi ed _____
 Full Name of Husband ___________________________________________________________________
 Full Maiden Name of Wife ________________________________________________________________

 Date of Divorce (Month/Day/Year)__________________________ Offi ce Use Only
 Location of Divorce (City or County) _______________________ Book ____ Page ____
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County (provide city or town if county is unknown)

Your Relationship to the Person Whose Certifi cate is Requested: (Check one)
□ Self □ Grandparent How do you plan to use this record?

_______________________________
_______________________________
_______________________________
_______________________________
_______________________________

□ Spouse (current) □ Authorized agent, attorney or legal
representative of the person listed
(Proof Required)

□ Other (may not be entitled to a certifi ed copy)
7. Specify ______________________

□ Brother/Sister
□ Child
□ Parent/Step-Parent

I hereby certify that all the above information is true to the best of my knowledge. Note: It is a FELONY
VIOLATION of North Carolina Law (G.S. 130A-26A) to make a false statement on this application or to
unlawfully obtain a certifi ed copy of a vital record.
_________________________________________________
Signature of Person Applying for Certifi cate Offi ce Use Only

Identifi cation furnished

________________________________
________________________________
________________________________

Amount Received $___________

_________________________________________________
Street Address or P.O. Box (P.O. Box cannot be used for expedited shipping.)

_________________________________________________
City, State and Zip Code

________________________  ______________________
Date (Area Code) Telephone Number



Order Certifi cate
A certifi cate search costs $24 and includes one copy if the certifi cate is located. The search covers a three-year
period. Requests are processed in the order received and can take up to fi ve weeks plus the mail delivery time.
The search fee is required to process a request and is non-refundable even if a record cannot be located.

Faster Service
To receive expedited service you MUST write “Expedite” on the outside of the envelope. Expedited requests
will be processed within 10 business days. This does not include the additional day(s) for shipping. This is a
non-refundable fee.

Identifi cation Requirement
Due to identity theft and other fraudulent use of vital records, ID of the person requesting a certifi cate is
REQUIRED. Requests that do not include ID will be returned. You MUST include a legible photocopy of
one of the photo IDs listed below with your request:
 Current state-issued driver’s license (address must match requestor’s address on application)
 Current state-issued non-driver photo ID card (address must match requestor’s address on application)
 Current Passport or Visa (must include photo)
 Current U.S. military ID
 Current Department of Corrections photo ID card dated within the last year
 Current state or U.S. government agency photo ID card (for persons requesting certifi cates as part of that

agency’s business)
 Current student ID card with copy of transcript

If you do not have one of the IDs listed above, you must provide legible photocopies of TWO of the following
(must be two DIFFERENT forms of ID):
 Temporary driver’s license
 Current utility bill with current address
 Car registration or title with current address
 Bank statement with current address
 Pay stub with current address
 Income tax return/W-2 form showing current address
 Letter from government agency dated within the last six months and showing current address
 State-issued concealed weapon permit showing current address

If you are unable to meet our ID requirements, a family member or other person
who is entitled to obtain the certifi cate, and who can meet the ID requirements, may request it.

A list of persons entitled to obtain certifi cates is located on our website at
http://vitalrecords.nc.gov/faqs.htm.
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